Finally….Day 1

January 25, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , ,

A bit of history during the last four or five years, I have fallen away from God and while my situation to turn my heart cold. And, I am tired of being The Ice Queen and always looking to see how someone is trying to pull the wool over my eyes. Always assumes the negative, now I have always been a realist with a the glass is half full (which only the closest people to me saw that side) but over the last few years I have slowly replaced my half full glass with an empty one and then wondered why it was empty. So, I am going to read and blog about a book a read back in 2005 that helped my grow closer to the God and learn how to balance my life until I chose to let life pull me down.

Day 1….Reading “The DNA of Relationships, by Dr. Gary Smalley

“Life is Relationship, the rest is just Detail” (Smalley, 3) this phase was actually coined by Dr. Scott Sticksel.

This took a minute to set in, but a very true statement. We have relationships with parents, children, siblings, in-laws, friends, employers, employees, customers or clients, neighbors, etc. Even the business world is utilizing relationships, and many are turning the focus on bettering inter company relationship as well as customer/client relationships and how to capitalize on those relationship for betterment of the company. I want to improve myself to better my relationship both personal and professional.

“The DNA Code:
1. You are made for relationship
2. You are made with the capacity to choose
3. You are made to take responsibility for yourself
” (Smalley, 11)

I love these, and Dr. Smalley explains these more are great detail in following chapters. This is our emotional DNA makeup.

And, my favorite quote of the chapter and this is a hard one for me because it is so easy to slip into the role of the victim.

“You have to take control of your life, stop being a victim of your past, and start moving on to something new.” (Smalley 13)

Many times, I just want to be validated for everything that I do do and then that does not happen, I tend to slip into the victim shoes, and it is poor me no one know see all that I do and that I am trying to do what I believe is right for my immediate family and my family as a whole. But, then one day I realized that even if they did validate all my hard work, I would not believe they actually meant it and were not just telling me what I wanted to hear. So, they were in a lose lose situation, all because I needed validation and wanted them to change to meet my needs, but they could not because God is the only who can meet those needs. Why? Because that is the way He made us for a relationship with Him.

Entry Filed under: Relationships,Starting over

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
