How to make a lap Desk

May 6, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lap Desk

Supplies

  • Lap Desk- I brought mine at Hobby Lobby 7.99 but use your 40% coupon
  • Paints – colors for what you are going to paint if you paint
  • Wood burning kit
  • Stencils (optional)
  • Paint Brush
  • Clean finish
  • Sand paper – I like the sand paper squares you get at Hobby Lobby or Home Depot
  • Sketch Me! app- I used this to create the drawing on the lap desk
  • Print
  • Pencil
  • Morning Glories pic – or pic of what you what on it
  • Stain (optional)
  1. Sand the lap desk
  2. Import your picture into Sketch Me and print it out.  I can draw but I am totally out of practice and did not want to mess this up so I used the Sketch Me! app on my Ipad to create an outline.  I chose a sketch with a bit of color because I could not decide whether or not I wanted to paint it after burning it or stain it.   Here is my picture.
  3. After you print it, trace the outlines on the front, then you hold your picture up to a window and trace the outline on the back.
  4. Now, place your picture face down on the lap desk wherever you want it, and retrace the outline on the back and press hard, because this will transfer your outline on the lap desk
  5.  Now, you are done with your picture and you can begin burning the outline with your wooden burning kit.  I did practice with the different tips that came with my kit to find the easy one for me.  I used the tip that looked like a flat head screwdriver.  In my experience, the tiny tips were for detailing, and they did not work for me.
  6. Then, I used my stencil’s to write my message, and draw the hearts. (Sorry, I do not have a picture) and then I burnt them.
  7. Then, I stained it and added a clear finish.  I love how this side turned out.  There are a few imperfections but it is just like me.
  8. Now, I also did the side, after I saw on Pinterest that if you put your hands together correctly you get a heart, and what Mommy or Grandma does not love hand prints.  So, I sanded the other side and gave it three coats of paint mainly to cover the faded spot where the stickers was, and the munchkins picked the color out.
  9. Then I chose white for their hand-prints so they would stand out.  I have discovered that painting the munchkins hands is easier that dipping them in paint and patting off the excess.  I also colored in the heart their hands made.  I think, I liked it better without the red but you live and learn.  And, I added the stencil hearts on the sided to give it something else.
  10. Then I sprayed this side with a clear finish and it is now hanging up to dry.
Entry Filed under: Crafts,Mommy's Day presents,Mothers

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
