Papa

June 8, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , , , , ,

Seventeen years ago today my Great Grandpa lost his long fought battle with Parkinson’s disease. He fought hard for ten years. I remember the endless doctor’s appointments and physical therapy. He would do what look liked to me push-ups against the wall and would say, “I am holding up the wall.”

We generally spend summers with Grandma and Papa. My Grandparents would be waiting outside when we arrived, and it would be a race between my sister and I who could get to Papa first for him to pick us up in his big arms and hugs us.

My grandparents were semi-retired. My Grandma had a home daycare and Papa mower lawns and tended Mr. Marshall cattle. My Papa would come home in the middle of the day to refill he water cans and it was the greatest thing in the world to get to drink from Papa water canning. The slinky red one always leaked ice cold water down your shirt so I liked the round blue one.

In the afternoon when the others kids were taking naps, my Grandma would let me get up and Papa and I would watch the news, Bold and the Beautiful followed by As the World Turns then Guiding Light and finally Jeopardy. I did not like Jeopardy but Papa did and that is all that mattered.

Then for dinner Grandma and Papa would have cornbread and buttermilk. I could never get past the taste of buttermilk so I would have milk and cornbread which was still pretty gross but I got to be like Papa and that fact was what helped me swallow it.

After dinner, we would go eat Mr. Marshall’s cattle. I just remember swinging in the gate because I was to scare to go in and help eat the cattle.

I could go on for pages of memories I have with Papa. He was a great man and I am very blessed to have gotten to know him. I believe he tried to make the best of life. I miss him so very much and there are so many things I wish I could tell him. Wish he could meet my munchkins and my munchkins could meet him. I wish he could see I turned out pretty okay. They say time heals all but for me time has not. I have to take confront that Papa is with Jesus and someday I will see him again and he will get to meet my munchkins but in God’s perfect time not mine.

Entry Filed under: Family

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
