Going Green

June 27, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , ,

I am a firm believer that natural is not always better. But, I have decided to be greener and lesson my impact on the environment. It had never accrued to me that as my believer in God that I should take an active role in doing my part to lesson my impact on the environment. God has given us this beautiful world and here we are destroying it. Here is where you can insert the save the environment speech with the fear tactics and statistic which I am not going to look up as I am sure you have heard it. I am going to share what I am doing.

First: I stopped using those nasty smelly cleaning chemicals. I found a great all-purpose cleaner recipe online that is awesome.

Second: I ditched my face wash, toothpaste, salt scrub and made my own that are cheaper and work just as well.

Third: I started recycling

Fourth: I have stopped using plastic for the most part and am using mason jars for storage of food and things like flour, sugar, baking soda, etc. I did this both for my family and the environment.

Fifth: I started making and using my own laundry soap which it tons cheaper, biodegradable, and the packing of all the ingredients is recyclable.

Sixth: I am currently trying a homemade dish soap but it is not going to well, but I am not giving up

Seven: I try to use less energy, but this is actually because my a summer program my electric is running.

Eight: I have switched to email for many of my bills

Nine: I have started buy more fresh organic (when they are on sale) fruits and veggies and meats and much less prepackage food. I do not know how big of an impact this has, but I have reduced our trash a lot.

I plan on trying a new toothpaste recipe, making my own deodorant, shampoo, and hair styling products, canning and/or freeze fruit/veggies. I am very excited.

If you have any more idea please share them, I would love to hear them.

Entry Filed under: Green

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
