Standing up for your beliefs

July 26, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , ,

Hmmm….I have always been a fan of Chick-Fil-A for a long time. I commend the Mr. Cathy for standing up for his beliefs. I do get frustrated of with wow amazing hateful people are because he does not have the same beliefs and that he is labeled a bigot and hater, so if he does not conform to your beliefs he is a bigot. Now, by that logical only both sides are bigots, because you are unaccepting of his personal beliefs. I am not going to stop going to Starbucks or drinking Pepsi MAX because they support homosexuality and same gender marriage or stop being friends with someone because of their lifestyle, well unless it is somehow hurtful to either of us.

Is homosexuality wrong? I watched a documentary on how homosexuality was not wrong and that the verses in the Bible that reference it (Genesis 19:12-29 and Leviticus 18:22) is actually not talking about the the homosexuality per say but the total lose of morals. I am not a Bible scholar but I sometime wish I could study at seminary school to learn more about the customs in Biblical times. I had a professor last year who would explain the customs along with the verses we were reading and I was fascinated but his knowledge and how he better understood the Bible because he understood the customs of the times. I wonder how much of that is actually Biblical reference and through historical documentation and assumption through other avenues. The scene in the Disney movie “The Little Mermaid” comes to mind where Ariel brings her latest treasure to the seagull (I cannot remember his name) and he tells her the fork is a digal hopper (I believe) and that you use it to comb your hair. Or, a post I saw on Facebook the other day that said something like in three thousand years then, they dig up a tanning bed, they are going to think we fried yourself as a punishment.

I was raised Southern Baptist and I am very conservative and black and white, but this journey over the last few months, I have learned to be less judgmental both of others and myself and see that being right or wrong is not as important as faith, hope, and love. Being right all the time and so totally close minded leaves little room or time for healthy relationships. I am so blessed and grateful for my family for putting up with me all these years.

I honestly I believe it is wrong in God’s eyes and Leviticus 18:22 definitely states it is but it is also the Old Law before Jesus, but more importantly God created a woman for Adam. And, seriously, as a woman, there are just things a man has that another woman never will.

Now, regardless of my personal beliefs, I do not believe that God would want us (as Christians) to shun, judge, and/or treat any people as hateful as we have been. He said that, “let him who is without sin cast the first stone” People, what message are we sending them about Jesus? Jesus loved the unlovedable by society standard so are we not called to do the same and love everyone regardless of lifestyle, status, sex, race, etc,etc? It is not my place to judge, and I learned a long time ago by I have to answer for me and you have to answer for you and all sin except for blasphemy is the same in the eyes of God. I believe we can love and support without condemning and without compromising beliefs on either side. And, I am not going to sit around hating, judging, condemning or arguing as it is not productive and just raises my blood pressure. You can choice you accept me for who I am, beliefs and all or you cannot.

Thank you to my dear friends who show me both sides and accept me for who I am.

Entry Filed under: Faith,Life,Relationships

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  July 26, 2012 at 11:53 PM

    Excellent post! Our salvation hinges on our personal relationship with Jesus Christ. We are all sinners and fall short of the glory of God. Only God knows a mans heart. I believe I am perfectly within my rights to say that I believe a certain practice is wrong/sinful. When I use that to discriminate against or mistreat one of God’s creations, I am the one in the wrong. We were called to love one another not judge one another
    The head of Chick-fil-a did nothing other than state his beliefs. As far as I know, no location has refused service or even mistreated any customers based on their sexual orientation. The liberals require a full brain washing into their ideology in order for them to consider you ‘tolerant’ and ‘inclusive’.

  • 3. memyselfandkids  |  July 27, 2012 at 7:14 AM

    Interesting points raised.


Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
