Friend

September 26, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , , , , ,

Friend…..,If you know me, well, you know I do not use that word for many people and generally, my friendship do not last more than a few years. Just a few months ago, I lost a dear friend over….well, I cannot remember what it was over. Every time, I lose (through the relationship failing apart) a close friend, I start to wonder why. I am that terrible of a person that I do not deserve a true friend. What am i doing wrong? I always try to do the right thing in my friendships, being loyal and dedicated, apologize first, and so on but they always fall apart. The last one hurt the most, I finally through I had found a true friend. The person, I could call at two am and raise our children together and do things together be at each other family holidays like a part of the family. I hope you are getting the picture….I do not know how good of a picture I am drawing.

During the last few months, God has shown me that I lose my friendship because I put them before my relationship with God. If something was wrong, I did not pray, I would talk to my friend to comfort and support and talk some since into me or to calm me down then I should have been going to God for that. I heard a sermon by Joel Osteen last week or the week before that titled “You’ve been Framed”. Joel talked about the frame the God puts around us, and allowing us do it our way until we bump into our frame. I can look back over just the last few years and see there God was telling me that I needed to stop relying on my friends and rely on Him. The last few months have been hard because even through I have an amazing support system with my family none of them are close enough to do everyday things and I miss that. For the first, in a long time, I felt truly completely a lone but my relationship with God is growing and that is what is important.

Entry Filed under: Faith,Friends

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. memyselfandkids  |  September 26, 2012 at 8:45 PM

    That stinks about your friend. However, the way you are handling things is great!

    • 2. sweetpea2200  |  September 26, 2012 at 9:38 PM

      Thank you, it has been a blessing through tears. I am learning that our test are not to test our faith but to teach us and grow our faith.


Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
