Christmas Past…..SANTA WARNING

November 21, 2012 sweetpea2200
Tags: , ,

Grrrrr……are we so materialistic that we have to give up our Thanksgivings to get out and get the best Christmas gift for the cheapest price? Okay, first off, Christmas in our society just gets under my skins because the mean of Christmas is to celebrate the birth of Christ. Yes, I understand it started as pagan holiday to celebrate the Winter Solstice, but for many centuries it has been a Christian holiday to celebrate the birth of Christ and now what is it? Is this how it felt to the pagans is they lost the meaning of their holiday? Is this just another transgression of the Christmas holiday meaning? Is there hope to save Christmas and relive the true meaning of Christmas. A holiday where many people overspend on material progressions we do not need but want all because we have become such a materialistic society. And, do not get me wrong, I do not buy presents for people because it was nothing to go with the mean of Christmas but it is hard not to go and get all the toys and stuff my munchkins want. What stops me is the fact that I do not want to pass that (stuff making you happy and that you need to keep up with the Jones) ideology on to my munchkins. It has even become politically incorrect to wish people Merry Christmas….what? The meaning of Christmas is to celebrate the birth of Christ, so why would we take Him out of Christmas.

And, I understand how Santa Clause story got started but we turned a guy living the Bible into a huge believe system and again, nothing to do with Christmas. I catch a lot of flak because of this but I did not tell my munchkins about Santa Clause why it is a lie. My biggest pet peeve is lying. I can forgive almost anything but do not lie to me, and if you do it is a single emanation. I was not raised with Santa Clause or the tooth fairy, or the Easter Bunny, etc, and I think I turned out okay. I understand it is fun and easier on the parents (no wrapping), but I just cannot knowingly lie to my munchkins. And, no, I am far from perfect and have lied both inadvertly and direct to my munchkins and dealt with the fall out. Like once my munchkins, dad was sick and I told my oldest he was in the hospital which was kinda true, and for a several weeks afterwards my munchkins would ask if we could stop at the hospital by our house. I wondered why my munchkin was so adaimit of visiting the hospital. I did not put two and two together, so I would say no and why. So, we were both growing annoyed the finely my oldest said cannot we just stop and see Dad? Well, I am sure you can assume how that turned out. I hate lies, and I work hard to not lie to anyone. And, I have seen my friends broke hearts when they learned the truth about Santa, now, granted whose are memories of a child so a bit colored but life has enough heartache why not start Christmas with the true meaning vs lies. You can still make traditions and have fun through the Christmas season without Santa.

Okay, that is my Christmas soap box and I am stepping off to go reclaim the meaning of Christmas.

Entry Filed under: Life

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gail  |  December 5, 2012 at 8:26 PM

    I didn’t raise my children to believe in Santa Clause, either…and I don’t have SC stuff in my house…and the only representation of Christmas in my home decor is the MANY nativity sets I have collected over the years! I do have snowmen, too, as decorations but that is a “winter” thing and in no way related to Christmas – and the REASON we celebrate That Day!

    • 2. sweetpea2200  |  December 6, 2012 at 5:13 PM

      You read my blog, I am so excited 🙂

  • 3. Gail  |  December 5, 2012 at 8:27 PM

    I’m on that SAME soapbox with you! 🙂


Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
