Helping with the Tornado Recovery

June 24, 2013 sweetpea2200
Tags: , , ,

Helping with the Tornado Recovery

I am honored to work for a company that gave us a whole paid day to go help out with the tornado recovery and to have a department that went as a group. Now, I am the totally outside, because I am weird and bit insecure. I know you know, but in trying to get out of my comfort zone, I grabbed my gloves, laced my tennis shoes, and wore jeans and a shirt with sleeves on it. I have been wanted to go and help with the recovery effort because that is the Oklahoma standard (so they say, I believe it is God’s standard), but I did not want to go alone. All report say that they are not letting people in, so I was excited that my department decided to go as a group.

So, first we arrived at a church in Moore, where we loaded up supplies and headed to a house that was totally demolition. The young man from the church had said to start at the front and work our way back that family pictures should be on the north side which also housed the propane tank that had been refilled like a week before the tornado hit. Hmmm…..think we are staying away from that. As we drove down the road leading to the house where were homes with minor damage, but nothing terrible. Then about ten house or so down the road there was a section of about three or four house that were complete gone. As you looked to the right and left, that section continues for several streets. It was amazing and sad at the same time. There was a house at the end of the section that looked like a knife had just sliced off a piece of the house as you would a piece of cake. You could see into the whole house from the attic to the foundation like one of those 3-D models. The house we were helping with had been a two-story, but the second story was sitting, I believe over the propane tank. And, the question all of us had was where do you start? That would be a theme question through out the day. I started left side. It was overwhelming to me, I could not image if that was my home. We had books, clothes, some really old coins, lot of children’s toys many that my mine munchkins would play with. I could not help but wonder if the family was okay. I pray so, I would assume by the toys there was at least one girl and boy. I found one of those couch things that unfold into a bed with Cinderella on it. We found a lot of car parts and the hood to a car in what I would assume as the garage. By two o’clock we had only begun to scratch the surface. Around ten thirty, another group had joined us from Tulsa so I would say there was about twenty plus people there.

Now, I am pretty tough and the thoughts of being the weakest link vs the praise I would receive by powering through whatever lay head are pretty good motivation, but after I drank my first bottle of water my arms where as weak as a kitten. Now, I do not know what that is about but it tick me off, and I would get excited then it was break time. It was hard backbreaking work with my little kitten arms. But, I was excited to get to be helping with the recovery. Throughout the day, I kept wondering about out of a modern advancements, and thinking without them recovery would be a lot faster and easier. But, I have been watching documentaries today and it would not have been. It would just be picked up stones instead of sheetrock. Anyways, it was one of the longest days of my life. I figure since we were up and moving the day would go by fast and by the end of the day we would be exhausted but grateful to have been a tiny part of the recovery efforts. Nope, I was ready to go by eleven. I could not believe I was being such a girl. I thought I had more fight in me than that. I can go help me friend all day with yard work, so I thought I could handle this. I was a bit shocked at how out of shape I am. I truly am grateful to not only to get to help with the recovery efforts but I have motivation to get myself back to the gym. Really, I want a Total Gym so family members that read this can y’all get together and get me a Total Gym for my birthday in a few months. Anyways, the day was pretty amazing. I big thank you to my employer and department for allowing me to be a part of it.

Entry Filed under: Life,Relationships

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
