To FB or Not To

August 7, 2013 sweetpea2200
Tags: , ,

To FB or Not To

Well, first off, I have to say that I have never read their privacy policy but per Facebook, the news media and several Facebook users that policy was changed more times then I feel comfortable with. Second, I spend way more time on Facebook than I should and I do not know where that time goes. I generally feel that I have wasted an hour or two on Facebook and do not have anything to gain from it. Third, the drama, and yes, I am guilty of it too. Mainly, with the ex and his family but we are not longer friends. I was de-friended and then I blocked them, because I do not want to be that drama Facebook person. Fourth, do I really really need to follow people from high school that did not care about me then and probably do not now. I mean I have like 100ish friends on Facebook and seriously know like five maybe seven including my family. Fifth, the adversing on Facebook is driving me crazy and there are things that pop up on my news feed because my friends like it, that I could totally live without.

Now, what I would miss about Facebook, my sister and brother-in-law post and updates, but I am sure I can get updates with text, calls and visits. I would also miss my high school English teacher’s post who also graduated high school with my mom (small town, I actually had the same computer teacher and the principal as my mom). I have to admit, I totally hated her class. Her would give us this list of like 20 to 30 words each week for us to learn that were big giant words that normal people never use. Well, turns out those words were important for the ACT and SAT and yes life. And, then there was the literature journal we had to keep for each story read. We journaled the theme, characters, plots, setting, and something else I can’t remember. There are five sections that they had to journal for every story. However, notes in my specialty and I actually loved the journaling except for Shakespeare. I hate Shakespeare, sorry, the stories are good but I just do not understand the language. Anyways, this English teacher and her husband are now the pastors at one of our locate churches, which I cannot remember the name but where it is located in town. She has some pretty amazing post and even admits her faults and even inspires me to go running. I would miss her post, maybe I can request them in my email. You think? The more I think about it the more, I am okay with giving Facebook and all the games up. I do not post about my kids much anymore or pictures of them for several reason but mainly safety. And, I personal wish Facebook would not allow pictures of children to be posted at all because I do not want other people to post pictures of my children. As it is now, I cannot stop them. I cannot even stop them from posting a picture of me, and believe me, my Dad has posted some pretty embarrassing ones of us kids. I would also lose many of my readers that follow my blog on Facebook and comment there. This is a pretty big deal breaker for giving up Facebook, what to do?

Entry Filed under: Internet,Life

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristina Williams Morris  |  August 7, 2013 at 12:54 PM

    Follow your heart, pray about it and do what you are being convicted of doing. I believe you can limit posts from games and people, and you can have notifications when certain people post that you want to see. I have to admit, there are some of her posts that are exactly what you need to hear at the time you read them.

    • 2. sweetpea2200  |  August 7, 2013 at 6:51 PM

      You are right. Honestly, I did not even think about praying about it. Will be adding this to my prayer list.


Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
