Bye-Bye TV

June 3, 2014 sweetpea2200
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Bye-Bye TV

I have wanted to box up my television for at least a year, after reading several Amish romance books, and watched a documentary on this family who gave up all modern living.  It was very inspiring, but then I think what would to do without television.  We gave up cable almost four years ago for three reasons: one, I could not afford it, two, I was flipping through my DVR and all I saw was kids shows, and third, television is losing its morals quickly.  But, now, I even want to get rid of the television all together, because even without cable we spend way too much time watching TV.  My youngest child was walking around Home Depot saying, “I am a Vulcan, I have no emotions and I am from the plant Vulcan” while trying to make the hand signal.  I decided then that we watched too much television and definitely too much Star Trek.  Of course, we have watched all Star Trek The Next Generation (twice), Deep Space Nine, Voyager and recently Enterprise.  There are so many other things that we could be doing instead of sitting around watching television like riding bikes, board games, dinner at the table, laundry, etc.

We have been without the television about two weeks, and the evenings had been pretty easy with board games and bike riding.  This weekend was a little bit harder, we did spend sometime with at a friends, grilling, gardening and cleaning house but I did crave in and we watched a movie on the computer.  I still have not plugged the television back in, because I know we will be in the same spot again never turning the television off.  I believe my munchkins are having television withdraw also.  I took a nap today, and then I woke up my kids were watching Netflix on the computer.  I know, I started it then we watched that movie last night, but it just shows that we are addicted to television.  I fear what winter is going to be like without being able to get out of the house.

What are your thoughts on television?  The shows on television? How does television affect you and your family?

Entry Filed under: Faith,Family,Family Finances,Green,Kids,Life

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. directorb  |  June 3, 2014 at 7:53 PM

    We watch movies, but don’t have tv, haven’t for years. The moral depravity alone is enough to not want to watch it, not to mention it sucks your life away from doing what we each were created to do. Keep up the good work!

    • 2. sweetpea2200  |  June 3, 2014 at 7:58 PM

      That is encouraging. Every time, I think about plugging the television back in, the fact that it sucks my brain in stops me. What activities do y’all do instead?

      • 3. directorb  |  June 3, 2014 at 8:01 PM

        Well we lead a very busy life, both my wife and I work and go to school, we also both blog, write e-books, and are involved in multiple side projects and ministries, our daughter comes along and gets to experience the world. We wouldn’t have it any other way.

      • 4. directorb  |  June 3, 2014 at 8:14 PM

        I think one of the most important things as far as things to do, go after your dreams and bring your kids along, it will open their eyes to so much, and they will see through you that they can accomplish anything.

  • 5. memyselfandkids.com  |  June 6, 2014 at 11:00 AM

    My wife in particular would not stand for this. Either way, you could watch so much on your computer these days a t.v. is becoming unneccessary.

    • 6. sweetpea2200  |  June 6, 2014 at 12:26 PM

      Yes, over the last few days, I have found myself watching on the laptop.


Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blogroll

 
